Call for Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian communities.....
Rahvusvahelised uudised 17 Feb 2012  EWR
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
 - pics/2012/02/35226_001_t.jpg

21 000 candles were lit on Tallinn Liberty Square in March 2010

Members of the European Parliament with the Unitas Foundation and NGO TuliPisar invite Baltic communities across the world to hold commemoration events on March 25th, the launch day of the 1949 March deportations.

Soviet mass deportations from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are among the most disheartening events in the history of the Baltic States. During Stalin’s rule, more than 150 000 people were forcefully taken to Siberia, thousands not even surviving the road there. Since 2010, commemoration events have been held in Estonia and by Estonian communities in more than 10 countries. On March 25th 2012, thousands of candles will again be lit in memory of the deportees. Among others, the Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian Members of the European Parliament are hosting a commemoration event in Brussels.

Baltic communities across the world are invited to join the initiative and hold remembrance events around March 25th, regardless of format. The Unitas Foundation and NGO TuliPisar would be delighted to receive a notification from the organisers of such events at . Additionally, please visit for a free information kit on Soviet deportations from the Baltic States.

If you wish to contribute to the success of these events in other ways, kindly visit the http://www.unitasfoundation.or... to make a small donation or contact us.
Please join us in keeping alive the memory of people who endured inequitable suffering and perished to no avail.

Members of the European Parliament

Algirdas Saudargas (Lihtuania)
Alojz Peterle (Slovenia)
András Gyürk (Hungary)
Andreas Schwab (Germany)
Andrey Kovatchev (Bulgaria)
Anna Maria Corazza Bildt (Sweden)
Ashley Fox (UK)
Bernd Posselt (Germany)
Bill Newton Dunn (UK)
Filip Kaczmarek (Poland)
Gabriele Albertini (Italy)
Hannu Takkula (Finland)
Indrek Tarand (Estonia)
Inese Vaidere (Latvia)
Ioannis Kasoulides (Cyprus)
Ivari Padar (Estonia)
Jacek Saryusz-Wolski (Poland)
József Szájer (Hungary)
Kārlis Šadurskis (Latvia)
Konrad Szymanski (Poland)
Kristiina Ojuland (Estonia)
Krišjānis Kariņš (Latvia)
Laima Liucija Andrikienė (Lithuania)
László Surján (Hungary)
Leonidas Donskis (Lithuania)
Manfred Weber (Germany)
Mario Mauro (Italy)
Ramon Tremosa i Balcells (Spain)
Roberts Zīle (Latvia)
Roger Helmer (UK)
Sandra Kalniete (Latvia)
Siiri Oviir (Estonia)
Zigmantas Balčytis (Lithuania)
Tunne Kelam (Estonia)
Véronique Mathieu (France)
Vilja Blinkevičiūtė (Lithuania)
Vilja Savisaar-Toomast (Estonia)
Vytautas Landsbergis (Lithuania)
    Trüki   E-post   FB     

Vaata veel ...

Lisa uus sündmus