World premiere of waltz composed
Rahvusvahelised uudised 05 Jul 2011  EWR
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
by Anthony Hopkins
* * * * *
André Rieu receives high distinction in Austria


André Rieu has received the Grand Gold Decoration for Services to the Republic of Austria last saturday. The decoration was awarded by Marianna Klicka, president of the District of Vienna. Rieu received the decoration because of his efforts to promote Viennese music around the world.

Rieu, the world’s most popular classical artist who is renowned for his energetic and festive live concerts, thanked the Republic of Austria by performing the waltz “"Wiener Festwalzer", which he composed himself.

A Waltz by Anthony Hopkins
In the audience was Antony Hopkins, who came all the way from Los Angeles to attend the world premiere of "And the waltz goes on", which was composed by Hopkins. Hopkins has written music for many years, but the ‘Thor’ co-star composed his latest piece, “And The Waltz Goes On,” with Rieu specifically in mind to perform it. Rieu was so enthusiastic about the work that he immediately set plans in motion to record it, reportedly moving Hopkins’ wife to tears during the initial performance of the tune.


Anthony Hopkins and André Rieu in Vienna


"I've been a great admirer of André Rieu for several years. He's a great musician. My wife and I had the same dream of meeting him one day, so I've send him some music that I wrote. It's a dream come true for me that André performed it with his orchestra. I'm knocked out by the result. It's even more than I expected!" says Anthony Hopkins about his cooperation with André Rieu.

The waltz will be on Rieu’s new album and will be performed by Rieu while on tour in the USA, Canada and Mexico, this fall. The complete itinerary of the tour can be found below.


DOWNLOAD HI-RES PRESS PHOTO OF HOPKINS & RIEU
(Photo: Govert de Roos)

TOUR DATES:

Saturday 10-Sept Calgary, Alberta Scotiabank Saddledome
Sunday 11-Sept. Edmonton, Alberta Rexall Place
Monday 12-Sept. Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Credit Union Centre
Wednesday 14-Sept. Winnipeg, Manitoba MTS Centre
Friday 16-Sept. Minneapolis, MN Xcel Energy Center
Saturday 17-Sept. Des Moines, IA Wells Fargo Arena
Sunday 18-Sept. Chicago, IL United Center
Monday 19-Sept. Detroit, MI Fox Theatre
Saturday 9-Oct. Mexico City Auditorio Nacional
Sunday 10-Oct. Mexico City Auditorio Nacional
Monday 11-Oct. Mexico City Auditorio Nacional
Wednesday 13-Oct Guadalajara Auditorio Telmex
Thursday 14-Oct. Guadalajara Auditorio Telmex
Saturday 16-Oct. Monterrey Monterrey Arena
Tuesday 18-Oct. San Antonio, TX AT&T Center
Wednesday 19-Oct. Grand Prairie, TX Verizon Theatre
Saturday 19-Nov. Washington, DC Patriot Center
Sunday 20-Nov. Pittsburgh, PA Consol Energy center
Monday 21-Nov. Buffalo, NY HSBC Arena
Tuesday 22-Nov. Ottawa, Ontario Scotiabank Place
Wednesday 23-Nov. Montreal, Québec Bell Centre
Friday 25-Nov. Manchester, NH Verizon Arena
Saturday 26-Nov. Uniondale, NY Nassau Coliseum
Sunday 27-Nov. Albany, NY Times Union Center
Monday 28-Nov. Newark, NJ Prudential Center
Tuesday 29-Nov. Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center
Wednesday 30-Nov. Wallingford, CT Oakdale Theatre



Contact

For more information & interviews contact:
Scoop Marketing Larry Solters, Anna Loynes
T: 818-761-7159 - E:

André Rieu Productions, Raymond Brekelmans
E:
 
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
SÜNDMUSED LÄHIAJAL

Vaata veel ...

Lisa uus sündmus