Short Film Competition Screening Kicks Off EstDocs + videos + photos (1)
Eestlased Kanadas 14 Oct 2016 EWR OnlineEWR

Your browser does not support HTML5 video.

EstDocs kicked off its 2016 season with the Short Film Competition presentation in Toronto on Friday. Hosted at the Camera Bar, film fans had the opportunity to explore Estonian culture through featured short films from all over the world. The sold-out venue served the event well with its combined theater to show films and art gallery for guests to mingle later. A total of 12 short films (max 7 min in length) were shown – all the films that were submitted to this year’s EstDocs Short Film Competition. These short films are being judged by the three-member jury consisting of Karin Hazé (Canada), Eeva Mägi (Estonia) and Matt Toom (Canada).

All the short film competition entries can be seen on EstDocs Youtube channel at or below.

The EstDocs Short Film Competition jury award winners will be announced on Friday, November 4th at the Estdocs Gala at the Bloor Hot Docs Cinema.

For the third time in EstDocs’ eight-year history of organizing the Short Film Competition, the audience was given the opportunity to vote for their favorite film. The Otto Rannamäe Audience Favourite Award winner will be announced at the upcoming EstDocs gala.

In addition to the award ceremony, the gala will feature "Master Plan", a Juris Pakalniņš's documentary that investigates Russia’s strategic use of infowar methods both at home and abroad exposing Kremlin’s propaganda machine as it spans in full motion in several European locations.

The EstDocs documentary film festival takes place from Nov 4 - 8, 2016 at various venues in Toronto. Programs are available at the Estonian House, Tartu College and Estonian Toronto Credit Union or visit for more information.

Photos: Maimu Mölder
Viive Tork Hiis and Robert Hiis
Mai Meret ja Brian Meret
Epp Luik ja Toomas Marley
Kalli Paakspuu, Emilie Tamtik ja Taavi Tamtik
Anne Guiter, Sylvi Oja, Eneli Mölder, Eda Oja
Ragne Pajo (right)
Leida Sepp
Sylvi Oja and Eneli Mölder
Tauno Mölder
Sylvi Oja and Jaak Järve
Kristi Sau Doughty and Linda Soolepp
Emma Soolepp and Linda Soolepp
Tauno Mölder and Kristi Sau Doughty
Karin Ivand, Robert Hiis and Ragne Pajo
Karin Ivand ja Robert Hiis
Kim Bagayava, Viive Tork Hiis and Mike Dell