President Ilves awards memorial stone of independence restoration to Defence League
Eestlased Eestis 21 Aug 2014  EWR
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
At the reception on the 23rd anniversary of the restoration of Estonia's independence, held in the rose garden of the Office of the President, Head of State Toomas Hendrik Ilves commended the Estonian Defence League (Kaitseliit) as one of the key facilitators of that restoration process.

"The Defence League was restored due to the free initiative of patriotic men and over this quarter of a century it has evolved from a mere association of like-minded persons into a strong and coherent state defence organisation. Yet the free will of Estonian citizens remains the backbone of our Defence League. It serves as a deterrent to possible aggressors," said President Ilves.

"The Defence League is an organisation for all of us, just as national defence is a task for all of us. One's status or distinctions do not count here; what matters are the desire to participate in the defence of your own country and the corresponding skills. I thank you all, those who restored the Defence League, those who serve in it now and those who are members of its subsidiary organisations," said the Head of State.

"I am so pleased to see many cultural figures among you, from journalists to film directors and from actors to writers. Indeed, efficient national defence requires good training, modern equipment and weapons, the will of the population to resist invaders and inevitably a good deal of strategic creativity," remarked President Ilves.
The memorial stone of independence restoration was receive from the Head of State by Jaan Tätte and Raivo E. Tamm, members of the Defence League who will deliver it to the headquarters of the organisation.

So far President Ilves has awarded this stone hewn out of the boulder used in the defence of Toompea Hill in 1991 as recognition of their efforts to the defenders of the Tallinn TV Tower during the attempted coup in August of that year, freedom fighter Lagle Parek, author of the phrase that united Estonia – "One day, no matter what, we will win!" – Heinz Valk, the Supreme Council that voted to restore the independence, the journalists who supported that drive and authors of patriotic songs Jüri Leesment and Alo Mattiisen.

Office of the President
Public Relations Department
- See more at:
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
18 Jan 2017 19:18
Lugeja: Eesti trahvid on juba niigi pilvepiiril, kuidas meie küll teistest Euroopa riikidest nii erineme DELFI
18 Jan 2017 14:08
Sotsiaalteadlane Ülo Vooglaid annab valitsuse teadus- ja arendustegevusele hävitava hinnangu Uued Uudised
18 Jan 2017 14:02
Majandusteadlane Ivar Soone: Eestis valitseb röövkapitalism Pealinn
18 Jan 2017 11:22
Rootsi Eesti Päevaleht 18. jaanuar 2017
18 Jan 2017 10:56
Dancing And Sacred Groves: What Does It Mean To Be Mari?
18 Jan 2017 10:36
Jaak Juhansoo 1942 - 2017
18 Jan 2017 10:11
The population of Estonia increased last year
18 Jan 2017 10:00
Hoidkem Vana-Võromaad, Setomaad ja ajaloolisi kihelkondi
18 Jan 2017 09:56
Krista Aru: tugev kohanime traditsioon on üks meie pärimuskultuuri talasid
18 Jan 2017 09:36
‘Trust Doesn’t Arise Overnight, But It Can Disappear Just That Quickly,’ Estonia’s Imbi Paju Warns
18 Jan 2017 09:34
Putin’s Remarks about Russian Prostitutes Say More about Him and His Regime than about Trump, Orlova Says
17 Jan 2017 16:32
"Eesti Hääl" detsember 2016
17 Jan 2017 09:39
Euroametnikud jätsid koolipäevikutest kristlikud pühad välja, islami omi mitte
17 Jan 2017 08:20
US Blacklists Top Putin Lieutenant
16 Jan 2017 19:10
Repliik Urmas Espenberg: kuulekas disainimeeskond täitis globalistide ülesande – pidetu amööb on sündinud Uued Uudised
16 Jan 2017 17:22
Eesti Hääl november 2016
16 Jan 2017 17:13
Mehhiko klubitulistamises hukkus neli välismaalast PM
16 Jan 2017 10:10
"Räägime asjast" 15.01.2017 by Raadiosaade "Räägime asjast"

Vaata veel ...

Lisa uus sündmus