Counting the Days of Estonian Freedom
Eestlased Eestis 26 Mar 2013  EWR
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
 - pics/2013/03/39024_001.jpg
The Republic of Estonia was proclaimed on 24 February 1918. The following day Tallinn, the capital city of the newly-born nation, was occupied by the troops of Kaiser Wilhelm of Germany. This military occupation lasted for nine months, until revolution broke out in Germany.

The Provisional Government of Estonia resumed its duties on 11 November 1918 and the de facto independence of the Republic of Estonia lasted until 16 June 1940 (incl). The following day Joseph Stalin’s Red Army invaded and occupied Estonia in violation of international law. For half a century, the Republic of Estonia existed only de iure.

Estonia was occupied twice by Soviet Russia: in 1940 – 1941 and from 1944 – 1991. From 1941 – 1944 Estonia was occupied by Nazi Germany.
As the result of the failed coup in Moscow, the Republic of Estonia was able to resume her de facto independence on 20 August 1991.

Pre-war Estonian independence ( 1918 – 1940 ) lasted for 7890 days. Counting from 20 August 1991 another 7890 days of independence will have passed on 26 March 2013.

Estonians will celebrate 27 March as priiuse põlistumise päev – the day when Estonian freedom has lasted longer than ever before.

The Estonian Flag Association
    Trüki   E-post   FB     
Jan 31 2018 - Toronto Eesti Maja
Eesti Keskuse projekti koosolek

Vaata veel ...

Lisa uus sündmus